Header Search U N C C . E D U

Main Content

UNC Charlotte is on YouTube

South Village Crossing to Open in January

South Village Crossing, the new 56,146-square-foot dining and gathering facility nestled between Moore and Scott residence halls, is scheduled to serve its first meals Tuesday, Jan. 6.

"Our students, faculty, staff and guests will be impressed with the tasteful design, culinary innovation and warm, welcoming atmosphere," said Ana Alvarez, director of auxiliary services. "We expect this building to solidify the sense of community at South Village and attract and delight students and staff from all over campus."

South Village Dining (SoVi) features an expansive hall where all food production will be visible. Patch Hadden, executive chef for South Village Crossing said, "The thing I am most excited about is being able to prepare and cook out front. It allows us [culinary staff] to focus on freshness, quality and plate presentation and allows the students a greater appreciation for putting together a well-balanced meal."

Important Dates for the End of the Fall 2014 Semester

The end of the semester is approaching rapidly! The academic calendar has complete information, but here are some important dates you need to know:

Wednesday, Dec. 3: Last day of classes

Thursday, Dec. 4: Reading day

Friday, Dec. 5 through Friday, Dec. 12: Final exams

Saturday, Dec. 13: Fall commencement

Wednesday, Dec. 24 through Wednesday, Dec. 31: Winter Break, University closed

Thursday, Jan. 1: New Year's Day, University closed

Friday, Jan. 2: University resumes normal operations